World Boardgaming Championships – August 5

Where to start?  Every year my oldest two sons and I get geeked out over the chance to go buy/play games as the championships roll into town.  This year we decided to just hit the vendors.

GMT games booth

One of the big vendor tables. GMT Games.

We did a big circle around all of the vendors to get an idea of what was available.  I had a few games in mind that I HAD TO HAVE.  Much like a shoe whore needs another pair of shoes, I need more games.

First purchase was actually a non-purchase.  As we chatted with the Wylie’s at the Worthington Games table they handed a free game to Things 1 and 2.  Nice way to start the day!

The first real purchase was Attack! by Eagle Games.  We picked it up for $15.  It looked like a great game for the boys to play if I’m not at home to get beaten.

On a side note, I have come to the realization that I no longer need to let them beat me at games anymore.  As a matter of fact, I have to really try to beat them at this point.  I’m not sure if I should thump my chest or weep.

The second purchase came as we rounded the first corner and ran into the Stronghold Games booth.  There was a demo of Survive: Escape from Atlantis on the go, so we hopped in and watched.  I”m always on the lookout for easy games to play with other families or to play a quick game at work during lunch.  This one fit the bill in both areas.

It’s quick to learn and a hoot to play with a high screw factor.  Basically, you are trying to get your people off of the sinking/exploding island of Atlantis.  Your people can die a few different ways (sharks/sea monsters/giant squids/whales/island exploding) and you have a big hand in killing your opponents people as they try to get to safety.  I highly recommend this game.  We had it on the table and had played a game within an hour of being home.  It’s really that simple and, I feel, very replayable.

With Survive safely tucked inside my backpack I passed the Victory Games booth.  Gettysburg:  The Wheatfield was one of the two games that I had to have if it was available.  One copy left at the booth.  Decision:  done.

Next up:  Worthington Games.  I happen to be a big fan of some of their games.  My boys and co-workers LOVE Cowboys and the recent addition of Hold the Line fills a need for a Revy War game that is simple enough for the boys to play with/without me.  I saw Victoria Cross II.  It too was added to the growing collection of items in the backpack.

Things 1 and 2

Things 1 and 2

One last swing through the vendor booths and we ended up at GMT.  I was torn between Kaiser’s Pirates and Flying Colors.  In the end, the Kaiser won out.  I have Wooden Ships already and felt this was a different niche in a few areas for me.

Temporarily sated, we packed up and hit the road to get back to try out the new purchases.  Little did we know that we would be heading back the next day!

Leave a Reply

